Archive for August, 2020

Hilary Mantel

Posted in M, Uncategorized with tags , , , on August 30, 2020 by katherinehilden


Literary fiction, essays

Fourth Estate | 9780008429973 | Published October 1, 2020

Mantel Pieces, published Oct 1, 2020.  Fourth Estate | 9780008429973


All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Michiko Kakutani

Posted in K with tags , on August 28, 2020 by katherinehilden


Literary Criticism

Ex Libris. Published October 20, 2020,   Clarkson Potter, ISBN 9780525574972



All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Martin Amis

Posted in A with tags on August 26, 2020 by katherinehilden





Catherine Lacey

Posted in L with tags , on August 25, 2020 by katherinehilden




Nobody Is Ever Missing. Farrar, Straus and Giroux. 2014. ISBN 978-0374534493

The Answers. Farrar, Straus and Giroux. 2017. ISBN 978-0374714345 , OCLC 988710197

Pew. Farrar, Straus and Giroux. 2020. ISBN 978-0374230920


All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Alice Oswald

Posted in O with tags , , , , on August 24, 2020 by katherinehilden




1996: The Thing in the Gap-Stone Stile, Oxford University Press, ISBN 0-19-282513-5

2002: Dart, Faber and Faber, ISBN 0-571-21410-X

2005: The Thunder Mutters: 101 Poems for the Planet (editor), Faber and Faber, ISBN 0-571-21854-7

2005: Woods etc., Faber and Faber, ISBN 0-571-21852-0

2009: Weeds and Wild Flowers, Faber and Faber, ISBN 978-0-571-23749-4

2009: A sleepwalk on the Severn, Faber and Faber, ISBN 978-0-571-24756-1

2011: Memoria,l Faber and Faber, ISBN 978-0-571-27416-1

2016: Falling Awake, Jonathan Cape

2019: Nobody, Jonathan Cape

2020: A Short Story of Falling – Metal Engravings by Maribel Mas. Published by Andrew J Moorhouse, Fine Press Poetry


1994: Eric Gregory Award

2005: shortlisted for Forward Poetry Prize (Best Poetry Collection of the Year), for Woods etc.

2009: Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry for Weeds and Wild Flowers

2013: Warwick Prize for Writing, winner for Memorial

2013: Corneliu M. Popescu Prize for European Poetry, winner for Memorial

2016: Costa Award for Poetry for Falling Awake

2017: Griffin Poetry Prize for Falling Awake


All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Sarah Stewart Johnson

Posted in J with tags , , , , on August 19, 2020 by katherinehilden



The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World, 2020


All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Walter Mosley

Posted in M with tags , , , , , , on August 16, 2020 by katherinehilden




1996 – O. Henry Award for a Socrates Fortlow story.

2007– NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work, Fiction, “Blonde Faith”.

2009– NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work, Fiction, “The Long Fall”.

2019 – Edgar Award for Best Novel for Down the River Unto the Sea.


Easy Rawlins mysteries:

Devil in a Blue Dress (1990)

A Red Death (1991)

White Butterfly (1992

Six Easy Pieces (2003)

Blood Grove (2021)


Fearless Jones mysteries:

Fearless Jones (2001)

Fear Itself (2003)

Fear of the Dark (2006)


Leonid McGill mysteries:

The Long Fall (2009)

Known to Evil (2010)

When the Thrill Is Gone (2011)

All I Did Was Shoot My Man (2012)

And Sometimes I Wonder About You (2015)

Trouble Is What I Do (2020)


Socrates Fortlow books:

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1997)

Walkin’ the Dog (1999)

The Right Mistake (2008)


Debbie Doesn’t Do It Anymore (2014)

Inside a Silver Box (2015)

John Woman (2018)

Down the River unto the Sea (2018), a standalone mystery

The Awkward Black Man (2020)



All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Shakuntala Devi

Posted in D with tags , , , , on August 15, 2020 by katherinehilden



mental calculation, mathematics


Devi traveled to several countries around the world demonstrating her arithmetic talents. She was on a tour of Europe throughout 1950 and was in New York City in 1976. In 1988, she traveled to the US to have her abilities studied by Arthur Jensen, a professor of educational psychology at the University of California, Berkeley. Jensen tested her performance at several tasks, including the calculation of large numbers. Examples of the problems presented to Devi included calculating the cube root of 61,629,875 and the seventh root of 170,859,375. Jensen reported that Devi provided the solution to the above mentioned problems (395 and 15, respectively) before Jensen could copy them down in his notebook. Jensen published his findings in the academic journal Intelligence in 1990. 

In 1977, at Southern Methodist University, she gave the 23rd root of a 201-digit number in 50 seconds. Her answer 546,372,891 was confirmed by calculations done at the US Bureau of Standards by the UNIVAC 1101 computer, for which a special program had to be written to perform such a large calculation, which took a longer time than for her to do the same.

Shakuntala Devi is a 2020 Indian Hindi-language biographical comedy-drama film written and directed by Anu Menon.  The film stars Vidya Balan as Shakuntala Devi.

All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Srinivasan Ramanujan

Posted in R with tags , , , , , , , on August 13, 2020 by katherinehilden




The number 1729 is known as the Hardy–Ramanujan number after a famous visit by Hardy to see Ramanujan at a hospital. In Hardy’s words:

    I remember once going to see him when he was ill at Putney. I had ridden in taxi cab number 1729 and remarked that the number seemed to me rather a dull one, and that I hoped it was not an unfavorable omen. “No”, he replied, “it is a very interesting number; it is the smallest number expressible as the sum of two cubes in two different ways.”

Immediately before this anecdote, Hardy quoted Littlewood as saying, “Every positive integer was one of Ramanujan’s personal friends.”

Thesis: High Composite Numbers

Ramanujan, Srinivasa; Hardy, G. H.; Seshu Aiyar, P. V.; Wilson, B. M.; Berndt, Bruce C. (2000). Collected Papers of Srinivasa Ramanujan. AMS. ISBN 978-0-8218-2076-6.

Hardy, G. H. (1978). Ramanujan. ISBN 978-0-8284-0136-4.

Hardy, G. H. (1999). Ramanujan: Twelve Lectures on Subjects Suggested by His Life and Work. Providence, Rhode Island: American Mathematical Society. ISBN 978-0-8218-2023-0.

Narlikar, Jayant V. (2003). Scientific Edge: the Indian Scientist From Vedic to Modern Times.. ISBN 978-0-14-303028-7.

Kanigel, Robert (1991). The Man Who Knew Infinity: a Life of the Genius Ramanujan. ISBN 978-0-684-19259-8.

The Man Who Knew Infinity is a 2015 film based on Kanigel’s book. British actor Dev Patel portrays Ramanujan.


All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.

Tracy K. Smith

Posted in S with tags , , , on August 3, 2020 by katherinehilden


poet, educator

Poet Laureate of the United States, 2017-2019


The Body’s Question. Graywolf Press. 2003.

Duende. Graywolf Press. 2007. ISBN 978-1-55597-475-6.

Life on Mars. Graywolf Press. 2011. ISBN 978-1-55597-584-5. Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, 2011

Wade in the Water. Graywolf Press. 2018. ISBN 978-1555978136.[10]

Ordinary Light, 2015. Memoir


All contents copyright (C) 2010 Katherine Hilden. All rights reserved.